Construction Card Courses

Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS)

What is the course?

The five-day Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS) course offers full instruction on everything you need in order to satisfy industry rules and regulations relating to construction site safety. The course will equip you with all of the necessary knowledge to ensure a safe work environment on-site and effective team safety management.

There is also a two-day SMSTS refresher course for those who want to renew their SMSTS certification.

Course content

  • Introduction to the Health and Safety at Work Act
  • Construction Design and Management (CDM) Regulations
  • Risk assessments and crafting method statements
  • Recent updates to acceptable working practices
  • Behavioural safety on-site
  • Management of occupational health
  • Excavations and demolition
  • Scaffolding and working at height
  • Working with electricity
  • Working in confined spaces

How is the course taught and assessed?

You will be taught by an industry expert in a classroom-based environment. There will be a mix of individual study and group work, and the final assessment will be based on your participation in group activities, your performance in an individual or group presentation, and your score on a multiple choice exam.

Who should take this course?

This course is designed for both trainee-level and experienced project managers and supervisors.

What qualification will I receive?

Upon successful completion of the course you will be awarded with a CITB Site Safety Plus certificate. The certificate remains valid for up to five years, following which you will need to take a two-day SMSTS Refresher course.

Entry requirements

No prior knowledge or experience is required in order to take part in the course. You should have a good command of both written and spoken English.

What can I do next?

Once you have achieved your CITB Site Safety Plus certificate you will be eligible to apply for the CSCS Red Technical, Supervisor and Manager (TSM) trainee card or the Gold Supervisory SKILLcard (HVACR supervisors only).

Holders of an NVQ level 4+ are also eligible to apply for the Black CSCS card.

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

Call Back Request


This site uses cookies. We have already set cookies which are essential for the operation of this site.

Cookies are small files that get saved to your computer from our website.They help us identify your browser's previous activity and preferences on our website without identifying you personally.

This allows us to improve your user experience while maintaining your own privacy.